Crab Orchard Review HeaderSouthern Illinois University Carbondale logo

--SUBSCRIPTION AND SINGLE COPY ORDER INFORMATION IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE.—

Guidelines for Submissions for CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW

Because of uncertainty and complications due to budget issues for the state of Illinois, CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW is not accepting general submissions at this time. The only available submission opportunities are the COR Student Writing Awards, submitted online from January 18, 2016 through February 20, 2016, and CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW's Annual Literary Prizes. submitted online from February 21, 2016 through May 17, 2016 deadline extended. We plan to open for free online submissions in mid-May and mid-July for general submissions. Since we have paid for 5,000 submissions for each of these months through Submittable and they will be free to submitters, we are discouraging postal submissions from now on. The decline in postal services make this option a better solution for us going forward and we are glad to be able to provide this means to submit for free to writers who wish to send us unsolicited submissions outside of our contests in mid-May through mid-July. We expect to follow this same approach for our next special issue's non-contest submissions in mid-October through mid-November. These time periods—mid-May through mid-July, and mid-October through mid-November—will be the only times to submit non-contest submissions outside of our contests to CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.

Here is the link for online submissions:

Submissions for COR Student Writing Awards online using Submittable

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW DOES NOT CONSIDER SUBMISSIONS VIA E-MAIL.

Please send only one submission at a time during a submission period and submit work that is appropriate for the topic we are reading for at the time (Summer: General Submissions; Fall: Special Topic). If your submission is not held by one of three editors for a later round of consideration, you will receive notification through Submittable as soon as possible. After you receive your response from us, you are welcome to submit again for that reading period or to wait for the next reading period. Authors may expect a response within nine months, with one to five months being the usual turnaround. If we have your work longer than six months, it has made the final round of work being considered for publication in the annual issue.

We do not backlog accepted work as a policy at CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.

 

--SUBSCRIPTION AND SINGLE COPY ORDER INFORMATION IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE.—

Guidelines for Submissions for CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW

ALL CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW CONTESTS ARE ENTERED THROUGH SUBMITTABLE.

Because of uncertainty and complications due to budget issues for the state of Illinois, CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW is not accepting general submissions at this time. The only available submission opportunities are the COR Student Writing Awards, submitted online from January 18, 2016 through February 20, 2016, and CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW's Annual Literary Prizes. submitted online from February 21, 2016 through May 17, 2016 deadline extended. We plan to open for free online submissions in mid-May through mid-Ju;y for general submissions. Since we have paid for 5,000 submissions for each of these months through Submittable and they will be free to submitters, we are discouraging postal submissions from now on. The decline in postal services make this option a better solution for us going forward and we are glad to be able to provide this means to submit for free to writers who wish to send us unsolicited submissions outside of our contests in mid-May through mid-July. We expect to follow this same approach for our next special issue's non-contest submissions in mid-October through mid-November. These time periods—mid-May through mid-July, and mid-October through mid-November—will be the only times to submit non-contest submissions outside of our contests to CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.

Here is the link for online submissions:

Submissions for COR Student Writing Awards online using Submittable

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW DOES NOT EVER CONSIDER SUBMISSIONS VIA E-MAIL.

Please send only one submission at a time during a submission period and submit work that is appropriate for the topic we are reading for at the time (Summer: General Submissions; Fall: Special Topic). If your submission is not held by one of three editors for a later round of consideration, you will receive notification through Submittable as soon as possible. After you receive your response from us, you are welcome to submit again for that reading period or to wait for the next reading period. Authors may expect a response within nine months, with one to five months being the usual turnaround. If we have your work longer than six months, it has made the final round of work being considered for publication in either the general area or the special issue area in the annual double issue.

We do not backlog accepted work as a policy at CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.


 

 

 

Single copies of recent issues up to 2015 may be ordered for $12.50 online ($1.50 off the cover price) or by mailing a check for $12.50 to:

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW
Department of English
Faner Hall 2380 - Mail Code 4503
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1000 Faner Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901

Or send a check for $20.00 to begin a 2016 year's subscription (1 double issue). A 2016 year's subscription is also available for online orders for $20.00.

All prices refer to U.S. domestic mailing addresses



Order copies or subscriptions of Crab Orchard Review online using Submittable

 

 

If you don’t find the information you’re looking for on our website, we can always be reached for information about subscriptions, current guidelines, upcoming themes, or contests by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW
Department of English
Faner Hall 2380 - Mail Code 4503
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1000 Faner Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901

EMAIL: jtribble@siu.edu

PHONE: 618-453-6833
FAX: 618-453-8224

 

Comments: Jon Tribble, Managing Editor, Site Design by Mark Brewin, Copyright © 2009, Board of Trustees, Southern Illinois University
Privacy Policy | EOE Link | Last Updated Friday, October 31, 2014