Crab Orchard Review HeaderSouthern Illinois University Carbondale logo

 

From this point forward, we will only be receiving submissions for the 2017-2018 online issues of Crab Orchard Review. We are still at work on the production of our last two double issues in print and will have them out to contributors and subscribers as soon as we're done. This has been a long process with budget cuts, staffing reductions, and spending rsetrictions along the way, and we appreciate everyone's patience while we work to complete these final print issues.

Any submissions during 2017 will be for the 2017-2018 online issues of Crab Orchard Review and everything should be sent to us through Submittable (no postal or email submissions). Here is our plan:

 

Issue 1. Student writing issue with adjusted Student Writing Awards

$500 prize in fiction, literary nonfiction, and poetry; all submissions are free through Submittable; submission period January 18, 2017 – March 20, 2017
notification of winners and publication queries: May 15, 2017
publication goal: October 2017

 

Submissions for the Student Writing Awards online using Submittable

 

Issue 2. General issue with COR Annual Literary Prizes

$1,250 prize in fiction, literary nonfiction, and poetry; all submissions are $12.00 for contest through Submittable; submission period March 21, 2017– May 31, 2017
notification of winners and publication queries: June 30, 2017
The issue will also be open for free general submissions: June 1, 2017 – July 31, 2017
notification of all submitters: August 30, 2017
publication goal: February 2018

 

Issue 3. Special issue (topic to be announced)

No contest for Special Issue
Free submissions open: August 30, 2017 – October 31, 2017
notification of all submitters and publication queries: January 31, 2018
publication goal: June 2018

 

We will be continuing the Crab Orchard Series in Poetry Open Competition and First Book Award, and we have already lowered the entry fees on both of these competitions since in the past we included a subscription or copy of Crab Orchard Review with each entry and that won’t be possible in the future.

This is a departure for us and we still have much work to be done on our two double issues in print. Thank you again for your patience while we make this transition and especially thank you for your support.

Sincerely,

Allison Joseph
Editor in Chief and Poetry Editor

Carolyn Alessio
Prose Editor

Jon Tribble
Managing Editor



Here is the link for online submissions to our current contest:

Submissions for the Student Writing Awards online using Submittable

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW DOES NOT CONSIDER SUBMISSIONS VIA E-MAIL.

 


ALL CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW CONTESTS ARE ENTERED THROUGH SUBMITTABLE.


 

 

 

Single copies of recent issues up to 2015 may be ordered for $12.50 online ($1.50 off the cover price) or by mailing a check for $12.50 to:

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW
Department of English
Faner Hall 2380 - Mail Code 4503
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1000 Faner Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901

Or send a check for $20.00 to receive the next issue (double issue). This issue is also available for online orders for $20.00. This issue will be available later this Spring.

All prices refer to U.S. domestic mailing addresses.



Order print copies of Crab Orchard Review online using Submittable

 

 

If you don’t find the information you’re looking for on our website, we can always be reached for information about current guidelines, upcoming themes, or contests by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW
Department of English
Faner Hall 2380 - Mail Code 4503
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1000 Faner Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901

EMAIL: jtribble@siu.edu

PHONE: 618-453-6833
FAX: 618-453-8224

 

Comments: Jon Tribble, Managing Editor, Site Design by Mark Brewin, Copyright © 2009, Board of Trustees, Southern Illinois University
Privacy Policy | EOE Link | Last Updated Wednesday, January 18. 2017