Crab Orchard Review HeaderSouthern Illinois University Carbondale logo

The 2015 Special Issue Feature Awards will open on August 15, 2014.  

Submit online to Crab Orchard Review's Special Issue Feature Awards using Submittable



2015 Special Issue Feature Awards
in Poetry, Fiction, &
Literary Nonfiction


$2,000 prize in each genre 

 

All Entries must be submitted through
SUBMITTABLE
http://craborchardreview.submittable.com/submit


August 15, 2014 – October 1, 2014
Entry Fee: $25.00 per entry
(additional entries $10.00; up to two additional entries)
All entrants receive a year’s subscription ($25.00)
(additional entries receive one back issue each entry)

 

BELOW ARE THE GUIDELINES FOR THIS YEAR'S SPECIAL ISSUE FEATURE AWARDS:

Entries should fit the topic of the CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW Summer/Fall 2015 special 20th Anniversary issue, “20 Years: Writing About 1995-2015,” focusing on writing inspired or informed by the experiences, observations, and/or cultural and historical events that cover any of the ways our world and ourselves have changed due to the advancements, setbacks, tragedies, and triumphs of the last twenty years.

One winner in each genre category—Poetry, Fiction, and Literary Nonfiction—will be selected by the editors of Crab Orchard Review to be published in the issue and receive a $2000.00 award. The editors are looking for the work in each genre that best embodies the topic of the special issue. Entries must be previously unpublished*, original work written in English by a United States citizen or permanent resident (current students and employees at Southern Illinois University Carbondale are not eligible). The author's name should not appear on any page.

All entries must be submitted online between August 15, 2014 and October 1, 2014 (entries will be accepted online until 11:59:59 PM (PST) on October 1, 2014). All entrants will receive notification of the results by email by November 30, 2014.

All entries will also be considered for publication in the Summer/Fall 2015 special issue, “20 Years: Writing About 1995-2015.” Regular Crab Orchard Review contributor’s payment rates ($25 (US) per magazine page. $50 minimum for poetry; $100 minimum for prose) apply to any accepted work that is not a genre winner.

We hope to make all editorial decisions for the issue by the end of January 2015.


GUIDELINES:

Poetry entries should consist of one poem up to five pages in length.

Prose entry length: up to 6000 words for fiction and up to 6500 words for literary nonfiction.

One initial Special Issue Feature Award poetry entry, or one story entry in fiction, or one essay entry in literary nonfiction per $25.00 online entry fee. If you wish to enter a 2nd or 3rd entry, please follow the instructions for a 2nd or 3rd entry and use the "2nd or 3rd Special Issue Feature Award Entry." Entering a 2nd or 3rd entry will each cost $10.00. A writer may send up to three entries in one genre or a total of three entries if entering all competitions, but please do not submit more than three entries total.

The initial $25.00 fee entitles entrant to one copy of the 2015 Winter/Spring issue of CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW, and one copy of the 2015 Summer/Fall issue of CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW, our special issue "20 Years: Writing About 1995-2015,” which will include the winners of these competitions. If you already have a CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW subscription we will extend your subscription for one additional year.

If you submit two or three entries, please use the entry link for "2nd or 3rd Special Issue Feature Award Entry." Entering a 2nd or 3rd entry will each cost $10.00 and will entitle you to one of the following past issues of CRAB ORCHARD.

—Crab Orchard Review Vol. 15, No. 2, our special fifteenth anniversary issue "Land of Lincoln ~ Writing about and from Illinois"

—Crab Orchard Review, Vol. 16, No. 1

—Crab Orchard Review Vol. 16, No. 2, our special issue "Old & New ~ Re-Visions of the American South"

—Crab Orchard Review, Vol. 17, No. 1

—Crab Orchard Review Vol. 17, No. 2, our special issue "Due North"

—Crab Orchard Review, Vol. 18, No. 1

—Crab Orchard Review Vol. 18, No. 2, our special issue "Prairies, Plains, Mountains, Deserts"

Please indicate the back issue you wish to receive for a 2nd or 3rd Special Issue Feature Award entry in your cover letter through Submittable.

*We have had people ask about what is eligible as unpublished work and at CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW we define "unpublished" as work that has not been published by an online or print publication and is not currently accepted for such publication; we do allow work that has been posted online by the writer (though we ask that the work be taken down from the time it is submitted until after the time it is published in CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW) or is available online as part of a thesis or dissertation required for the completion of a degree. Simultaneous submissions are considered for the all Crab Orchard Review contests, but the winning entries must meet the criteria as unpublished work described here.


Submit online to Crab Orchard Review's Special Issue Feature Awards using Submittable  

 

OUR 2014 SPECIAL ISSUE FEATURE AWARD WINNERS

We are pleased to announce the winners of last year's Special Issue Feature Awards for our special issue "The West Coast and Beyond," CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW, Volume 19, Number 2 (Summer/Fall 2014). The winners were selected by the editors of Crab Orchard Review.

In poetry, our winner is Terry Lucas of Mill Valley, California, for his poem “Contra Costa.” In fiction, the winner is Russell Working of Oak Park, Illinois, for his story “The Day Job.” And in literary nonfiction, the winner is Debra Gwartney of Finn Rock, Oregon, for her essay “Her Hair.” The winner in each genre category—Poetry, Fiction, and Literary Nonfiction—is published in "The West Coast and Beyond," CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW, Volume 19, Number 2 (Summer/Fall 2014) and received a $2,000.00 award.

Thanks to all the writers who submitted to these Special Issue Feature Awards for giving us the opportunity to read their works and for their interest in CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.


 

If you don’t find the information you’re looking for on our website, we can always be reached for information about subscriptions, current guidelines, upcoming themes, or contests by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW
Department of English
Faner Hall 2380 - Mail Code 4503
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
1000 Faner Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901

EMAIL: jtribble@siu.edu

PHONE: 618-453-6833
FAX: 618-453-8224

 

Comments: Jon Tribble, Managing Editor, Site Design by Mark Brewin, Copyright © 2009, Board of Trustees, Southern Illinois University
Privacy Policy | EOE Link | Last Updated Wednesday, May 14, 2014